

American Probation and Parole Association

2021 Election Results



PRESIDENT-ELECT | Susan Rice

Susan Rice has been active in APPA for many years. She most recently served as Vice President on the Board of Directors. Ms. Rice has also volunteered as a regional representative, A Leadership Institute and Mentor, and a National Program Chair for a Training Institute held in Cleveland, Ohio. She was also an instrumental participant in the recent restructuring of the APPA Board. She currently serves as Director of Community Supervision for Uptrust and has 33 years of experience in community corrections.



VICE PRESIDENT | Marcus Hodges

Marcus Hodges has 29 years of community corrections experience across several important positions. He currently serves as Associate Director for the Court Services and Offender Supervision Agency (CSOSA) in Washington DC. Mr. Hodges was the President of NAPE from 2014-2018. He also assists in facilitating the APPA Leadership Academy and provides guidance as a co-chair on APPA's Diversity Committee. In 2018, he received the Middle Correctional States Association Award for Innovation in Community Corrections. In 2020 he was awarded Probation Executive of the Year from NAPE/Sam Houston State University.



SECRETARY | Audrey Rigsbee

Audrey Rigsbee serves New Jersey as Vicinage Assistant Chief of Probation for the State Judiciary. She has 30 years of experience in the field of community corrections. Ms. Rigsbee works to share her experience as chair of APPA's Training Accreditation Committee. She has also volunteered as an APPA regional representative and a past program training institute chair.



TREASURER | Thomas Gregory

Thomas Gregory has been re-elected to serve a second term as APPA Treasurer. Previously he volunteered as a regional representative, and he is a proud graduate of APPA's Leadership Institute. Mr. Gregory is the President of the Illinois Probation and Court Services Association and Co-Chair of the Legislative Committee. He is the Director of Probation and Court Services for the Vermillion County, IL, Probation Department, responsible for 30 employees and a budget of approximately 1.5 million dollars.



MEMBER AT LARGE | Tania Appling

Tania Appling, Ph.D., is the Deputy Director at the Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice. She has been with the department for 24 years and remains committed to the development and education of probation and parole officers. Dr. Appling has been a member of APPA for 10 years. She has served as a regional representative, a mentor within the Leadership Institute, a program chair for two training institutes, and as past chair for the Juvenile Justice Committee.



AFFILIATE REPRESENTATIVE | Isabel Perez-Morina

Isabel Perez-Morina, Ph.D., is the President of the Florida Association of Community Corrections and the CEO of Advocate Program Inc. Dr. Perez-Morina has served as an Affiliate Representative since 2018. Since that time she has been an active board member and participated in several committees and workgroups, including the APPA Board Governance Workgroup where she represented the Affiliate Representatives.



LINE STAFF REPRESENTATIVE | Alyza Gonzales

Alyza Gonzales is a Juvenile Probation Officer in Cook County, Illinois. Over seven years as a field officer, Ms. Gonzales has served her communities, courts and clients. She has played a crucial role in leveraging new technology during the pandemic and implementing a new information management system to keep the office more efficient.



SECOND PAST PRESIDENT | Scott Taylor

Scott Taylor currently serves in a consultation status for Justus Constultants. He is the retired director of the Multnomah County Department of Community Justice in Oregon, and a past president of APPA. Mr. Taylor has dedicated himself to continued excellence in the field of community corrections through innovative practices and leadership development.



REGION 1 REPRESENTATIVE | Herb Sinkinson

Herb Sinkinson has devoted his career to probation and parole advancement in Vermont and the greater New England area. He's served in numerous roles including but not limited to: law enforcement, supervision, program development, founder of the Victim Impact Safe Driving Program, conductor of ACA standards project and much more. Mr. Sinkinson is the recipient of the United Way and JCPenney Golden Rule Award, the Ronald McDonald House Special Award, the Hometown Hero Award, APPA's 1997 President's Award, the Marshall Dimock Award for Academic and Community Work and many more.



REGION 2 REPRESENTATIVE | Corinne Briscoe

Corinne Briscoe is currently the Director of Court Services for a rural three county district in central Illinois. She is involved in Illinois statewide probation initiatives, training, and the Illinois Probation and Court Services Association. Corinne also serves as the Nominations Chair for APPA and has been a regional representative for what used to be Region 9 since 2019. She is committed to the vision and the goals of APPA.



REGION 3 REPRESENTATIVE | **Dena Davis**

Dena Davis is a corrections professional with 20+ years of experience in the field. She serves at the Tennessee Department of Correction carrying caseloads, organizing offender job fairs, programming, supervising interstate transfers and implementing policies to enhance probation and parole throughout the state. A strong strategic planner with a background in criminal justice, Ms. Davis is dedicated to the enhancement of her region.



REGION 4 REPRESENTATIVE | Gene Cotter

Gene Cotter has worked in probation for 30 years as an officer, chief, and administrator. He has previously served on the APPA Board as an At-Large Board Member and as a Regional Representative. Mr. Cotter is a graduate of the Leadership Institute, recipient of the Norm Helber Award, Leadership Institute Redesign Committee Co-chair, a former "Perspectives" editorial board member, participant in APPA's strategic planning, former National Program Chair and active volunteer in numerous other positions.



REGION 5 REPRESENTATIVE | La Tasha Jones

La Tasha Jones currently serves Contra Costa County Probation Department in California as a Juvenile Court Officer. She has worked with this agency for 14+ years. Some of her roles include Thinking for a Change Facilitator, Core Correctional Practices Facilitator, Peer Support, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion committee member, and Employee Recognition committee member. Ms. Jones also serves APPA as a member of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee. She gives back to her community by volunteering as a cheer coach, a Girls Empowerment Speaker and Women in Law Enforcement presenter.

AREA REPRESENTATIVES

Denise Rogers
Tammy Ashley
Chris Vogler
Jennifer Cummings
Brian Richart
Suzanne Brisebois
Tonya Ingram
Lorraine Rodrigues
Terra Taylor
Joe Winkler
Debaja Coleman
Michelle McBraun
Darin Burrell
Alberty Rodriguez
CJ Miller
Beth Skinner
Tricia Bruders
Erica Hargis
Ann Marks
Susan Gagnon
Sherry Jones
John 'Jack' McGrimley
Greg Straub
Terry Fawcett
Christiane Williams
Kelly Hams-Pearson

AREA REPRESENTATIVES

Jake Henry Montana Nebraska Jeanne Brandner **Dean Steiner** Nevada **Christopher Regan New Hampshire New Jersey Helibert Hernandez** New York **Vincent Doto** North Carolina **Timothy Moose** Twyla Llewellyn North Dakota **Juli Tice** Ohio Jay Mauldin Oklahoma Oregon Tira Hubbard **Frank Scherer** Pennsylvania **Kimberly Bernard** Rhode Island South Carolina **Joe Pryor Chad Clark** South Dakota **Maryetta Rudd** Tennessee **Vonda Freeman** Texas **US Pacific Territories** Rossanna Villagomez-Aguon Utah **Kele Griffone Travis Kimball** Vermont Virginia **Amanda Griffith** Michael DiGuilio Washington Washington DC **Danielle Speed** Sarah Royal West Virginia

Daniela Imig

Coltan Harrington

Wisconsin

Wyoming